TIFA History

TIFA was originally started in 2010 by filmmaker James Dubbeldam and film-lover Jeff Applewhite who recognized the challenges faced by filmmakers for gaining recognition for their work. They wanted to start an awards ceremony that each year recognized the best in independent film- from around the world- in every category and genre.

Continually focusing their efforts towards assisting filmmakers and promoting the best in indie film, Jeff and James annually have made modifications to TIFA in order to provide the best avenue for audiences and to provide filmmakers with the recognition they deserve.

Former judges on our selection committee have included: Keith Bunin (Screenwriter, “Horns”), Karen Ludwig (Actor, “Manhattan“), Mathieu Chantelois (TV Personality, “The Lofters”), Lisa Gold (Former TIFVA winner, Best Director 2011), Kelly Michael Stewart (Producer, “Late Night Double Feature”).

The TIFA Team

James Dubbeldam – Executive Director
Shean Carmichael – Lead Creative
Millicent Sykes – Engagement Coordinator
Jason McGregor- Screener Coordinator
Jeffrey Applewhite – Team Manager
Graham Copestake- Sponsorship Coordinator
Suela Kerxhaliu – Event Planner
Anthony Rumolo – Screening Team

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)


    Your Message

    TIFA would love to hear from you! If you have any questions or just want to talk film, email us at the form on the left or at info@tifa.ca

    In keeping with the spirit of community TIFA is always looking for volunteers for various areas of the organization. Email us at the form on the left or at info@tifa.ca for more volunteer information.

    For media or sponsorship related inquiries please email us at the form on the left or at info@tifa.ca